Day One

20141118_230937
Before!
20141118_230915
before!

Today I started the journey to become healthier and lose weight. Well, technically I started yesterday. I went to see my OBGYN (Dr. Polke awesome guy) to discuss having another baby. I just turned 27 a few weeks ago and the clock is ticking. If I am going to have another baby I would like to do it before I turn 30. In order to do that, I need to get myself healthier. First things first I need to lose weight. I have gained a lot of weight since having my first child in 2008. Some of that being depression, some of that being  lazy, and a lot of that being bored and comfortable. I let myself go and now its time for me to find myself again. Dr. Polke wanted me to start a program his practice offers called First Line Therapy. I would meet with a Dietitian and we would set up a program to help me lose weight and overall get healthier. He also prescribed me Phentermine pills which he said would suppress my appetite and give me more energy, which would make me burn more calories. So this morning I had my first appointment with FLT. My Dietitians name is Debra. She is really nice. Very easy to talk to which helps with these types of things. It was easy to be open and honest with her about what my eating habits were like, what my sleeping habits were like, and pretty much everything. They did a BIA (Bioimpedance Analysis) test which I guess measures your body fat compared to lean muscle in your body and how many calories on an average day I burn just going through my day. It was simple, I just laid there while Debra put a few stickies on my foot and my hand. She hooked up a few wires and then it was all done. We discussed my goals and the things that were wrong with my health. She gave me an outline for my diet. What I should and shouldn’t be eating. Nothing on there was a surprise to me. Mostly fruits and veggies, some protein, nuts, dairy…..The norm just in moderation. She wants me on a 1700 calorie a day diet. For the first week she wants me to just get used to the lifestyle chance and focus on what I am eating. Today wasn’t terrible. It was the first day on my new medication. I felt a little funky (but of course just my luck I also happened to get my monthly friend this morning too so that could have thrown me off as well). I felt a bit jittery all day. I had bursts of energy though out the day where I felt like I could practically run a marathon, but at other times of the day I felt like I was crashing. The fatigue could have been my period, I normally am sluggish all period week long. At times I wasn’t sure how i felt. Just weird. I wasn’t really hungry all day long. I actually had a hard time getting in all the things that Debra wanted me to get in. She wants me to eat every 2-3 hours. I ate because I knew I should. I actually took the measuring cups to the table with me and measured everything that I ate. The part of the day that is really hard for me is tonight. Night time is my snack time and when I eat the junk food that I know I shouldn’t eat. She wanted me to have my last snack for the night by 8pm. I ended up having it tonight at 9:30. I just wasn’t hungry at 8. I had just eaten dinner at 6, I’m proud of myself as far as dinner goes. I made tacos for dinner, which is one of my absolute favorite things. I only ate 1 taco and then made myself a salad with the rest of the meat, cheese, and sour cream I had left. It really did fill me up which was very surprising to me. Normally on taco night I can eat like 8 tacos. My snack tonight was a 100 calorie pack of cashews and I made a big glass of water with a flavor packet. Now I’m just fighting myself to not snack. I’m hungry for the first time today and I really want to eat something but I know I just can’t. I took some “before” pictures of myself today. I really don’t like the way they look. I’m excited to see what the “during” and “after” pictures will look like. I don’t know what my starting weight is, Debra didn’t even tell me but I will find out and once I do I will share it here for the world to see. I’m sure it’s not pretty, but in order to progress you have to start somewhere. Overall, day one wasn’t terrible. I can do this. I want to do this and I think that’s the most important thing. Well, goodnight. It’s time for me to get some sleep. Here’s for day two!!!

Leave a comment